Urban CFD

1. Turbulence modeling

1.1 Comprehensive Approaches

In theory, it is possible to solve any fluid mechanics problem using Navier-Stokes equations. However, this approach (called DNS – Direct Numerical Simulation), is still far too costly in terms of computing resources and would require extremely fine spatial discretization to be able to capture all the scales of turbulence over the entire zone of interest.

The first way to reduce the necessary computing ressources is to use the method called LES – Large Eddy Simulation. The idea is to simulate (represent) only the largest scales of turbulence (the "largest eddies"), and take into account what happens at the lower scales using models (see figure below). However, many discussions are still ongoing on the optimal type of modelling.

Fig. 1 – Turbulence simulations | Left : direct simulation (DNS) | Right : only the large scales are simulated, while the smaller one are taken into account thanks to a physical model (LES) | After [11]

Nowadays, the most widely used method for resolving turbulent flows is the RANS - Reynolds Averaged Navier Stokes [2]. This method time-averages the Navier-Stokes' equations over all turbulence scales. Similar to the LES methods, it is then necessary to model the effects of turbulence on the mean flow: this is the role of the turbulence models discussed below.

Simulations are performed in Steady State, since the meteorological data is averaged over periods ranging from at least 15 to 30 minutes.

1.2 Turbulence Modeling

Within RANS-type approaches, turbulence models aim to define the turbulent variables of the flow as a function of the global variables of the average flow. Two types of approaches exist: one is based on the viscosity of vortices, and derives turbulent stresses from the mean velocity; and the second considers some additional differential equations.

Historically, the most widely used approach remains the linear approach " k - \epsilon ":

  •   k : turbulent kinetic energy
  •   \epsilon : rate of dissipation of turbulence energy.

A known problem of this model is the overproduction of turbulent kinetic energy in stagnant areas. Many authors have tried to improve this model, which has generally improved the prediction of pressure coefficients ( C_p ), but reduces the quality of velocity predictions, especially behind obstacles.

This model, and the numerous variants that followed can be found below:

  •   k - \epsilon :
    • Issues with "over production" of kinetic energy in stagnant zones
  • Modifications du k - \epsilon :
    • Good pressure coefficient assesment near façades, poor velocity prediction downstream of obstacles
  • RNG k - \epsilon (ReNormalization Group) or Realizable k - \epsilon
    • Mitigation of stagnation problems
    • Better results downstream of obstacles
    • Seems to work best for simulating complex environments (many buildings).
  • SST k - \omega (Shear Stress Transport )
    • A priori the best variant of the k - \epsilon

Overall, all linear models suffer from the isotropy hypothesis of Reynolds normal stresses. Non-linear models should be used in theory, but still too few applications exist to date.

In summary, it is better to avoid the k - \epsilon  model as is,and use at least the Realizable k - \epsilon , or even better the SST k - \omega. In the case of several building modeling, the  RNG k - \epsilon  model seems to yield correct results.

2. Atmospheric Boundary Layer

3.1 Origins

When a fluid flows along a stationary wall, the velocity on the wall is zero, while far from the wall they are equal to the velocity of the undisturbed flow, as shown in Figure 2. This velocity gradient zone is called Boundary Layer

Fig. 2 – Velocity profile of a boudary layer above a thin plate (from Wikipedia.org)

According to a surface normal, the speed will therefore vary between 0 m.s-1 and a given maximum. The velocity variation depends on the viscosity of the fluid that induces friction between adjacent layers.

The boundary layer is defined as the region of the flow where viscous effects are at least as important as inertial effects. In general terms, we define \Delta (x) as the thickness of the boundary layer, such that:

u\left( \Delta (x) \right) = 0,99 \times u_{\text{inf}}

where u_{\text{inf}} is the maximum velocity (in the undisturbed flow), as shown in Fig. 3.

 

2.2 Definitions

The Atmospheric Boudary Layer (ABL) represents the part of the atmosphere directly influenced by the effects of the Earth's surface (continental or oceanic). Beyond this area, the influence of the ground is considered negligible. This layer can be roughly divided into 3 layers, as shown in Fig. 3 (from [9]).

Fig. 3 – Atmospheric Boundary Layer

The first rough sublayer in the immediate vicinity of the ground is a zone where the wakes of obstacles encountered by the wind are mixed. The velocity fields are very disturbed, and friction forces are predominant. Its thickness can vary from a few millimetres (sea surface) to about ten metres (urban areas).

Immediately above it is the Surface Boundary Layer (SBL), also known as the mixing layer or Prandtl layer. It is defined as the region where the temperature decreases rapidly during the day with altitude, and more generally as the region where the fluxes of momentum and heat (sensitive and latent) are conservative and equal to those of the ground. Within this area, turbulence is homogeneous, and the wind direction does not vary (or only slightly) with altitude. Velocity, on the other hand, varies in proportion to the logarithm of altitude. It represents about 10% of the ABL, and extends over heights ranging from ten to a hundred meters.

Finally, there is the Ekman layer (also called the dynamic boundary layer), where the Coriolis force (induced by the rotation of the earth) becomes comparable to the friction forces on the ground. This leads to deviations in wind direction with altitude, which can reach 30 to 40° in the anticyclonic direction (to the right in the northern hemisphere, and to the left in the southern hemisphere).

2..3 Characterization

The representation of the average wind profile is based on results from fluid mechanics. In practice, two types of profiles are used, one follows a logarithmic and the other a power law, depending on the altitude z .

2.3.1 Logarithmic profile

Although there is no exact description of this CLA to date, many approximations exist. The most common, recommended by different authors (e.g.[2] or[3]) is the description proposed by[10]. This assumes zero vertical velocity, constant pressure in the vertical direction and flow direction, and constant shear stresses in the CLA. Thus the vertical velocity profile can be obtained by the following logarithmic law:

U(z)=\frac{u_*}{K} \ln \left( \frac{z+z_0}{z_0}\right)

where U(z) is the speed at an altitude z, z_0 is the surface roughness, K the constant of von Karman (usually the value is around 0.4), and finally u_* the speed of friction. The latter is obtained by the relationship:

u_* = \frac{KU_h}{\ln \left( \frac{h+z_0}{z_0} \right)}

It is calculated from the reference speed U_h measured at an altitude h. This is typically the value measured in weather stations at a height of 10m.

2.3.2 Power law profile

In some cases, for simplicity's sake, a simpler approximation can be used and allows a faster evaluation of flow rates as a function of height. This is the "power law", which is expressed as follows:

\frac{u(z)}{u_0} = \left( \frac{z}{H_0} \right)^m

Where u_0 is the air flow velocity measured at a height H_0 z is the altitude and finally a parameter that characterizes the profile distortion. Its value is usually between 0.1 and 0.2.

Note : There is no mathematical justification for the validity of this law, however it seems to be in adequacy with the measured experimental profiles, especially after adjusting the parameter  m .

2.3.3 Turbulence of the ABL

When using 2-equation turbulence models (the most commonly used), the values and k and \epsilon  are also obtained with the CLA hypothesis. The formulas for determining them are found in reference[10] and are the result of conservation equations.

3. Law of the wall

Fig. 5 – Law of the wall after [12]

The boundary layer close to the walls is divided into three zones characterized by the dimensionless distance to the wall y^+ defined such follow: y^+=\frac{U^+ y}{\nu} where U^+ is the shear velocity \nu, the cinematic viscosity and y the wall distance. These three zones, illustrated on Fig. 5, are:

  • the viscous sub-layer: in a zone where 0\le y^+<5the viscous effect are predominant.
  • the buffer zone where y^+ is as follow 5<y^+<30.
  • Finaly, the logaritmic layer with y^+ ranging from 30 to 300. In this area, turbulent effects are predominant and the velocity follows a logarithmic law defined by:
    U^+=\frac{1}{\kappa}\log y^+ + C

There are two approaches commonly used in CFD to model turbulence i near wall areas. On the one hand, there are "low Reynolds number" turbulence models that calculate the flow variables throughout the boundary layer. The disadvantage of this method is that it requires a very fine mesh size with first mesh cells located in the viscous sublayer On the other hand, there are so-called "high Reynolds number" turbulence models that model the flow in the boundary layer via the logarithmic law. The result's accuracy near the wall is then reduced, but these methods are reduce considerably the calculation times.

4. Urban CFD recommandation

4.1 Modeling area

Si l’on s’intéresse à un bâtiment de hauteur H, il convient de modéliser  les faces latérales et la face supérieure à une distance minimum de 5H. Idéalement sur la face aval, il convient de modéliser une distance 15H  [2,5]. La distance accrue en aval de l’objet d’étude a pour but d’avoir « assez » d’espace pour obtenir un écoulement stable.

Fig. 5 - Modeling domain for multidirectional (left) and unidirectional (right) studies, based on [1]

 In general, the "blockage" (ratio of surfaces between the projection of the object of study and the upstream side) must be less than 10%, and ideally around 3 to 5%.

4.2 Discretization

4.2.1 Global recommendation

  • In general, it is preferable to use prismatic (rather than tetrahedral) elements.
  • Except in special cases, in order to limit numerical diffusion problems, the mesh should be built in the wind axis.
  • For all modelled buildings, it is necessary to have at least 10 mesh cells per dimension.
  • For "streets" (space between 2 neighbouring buildings), it is necessary to have a minimum of 6 to 8 mesh cells ( < 2m) in order to be able to represent the air jets, as well as possible wall detachments.
  • In the case where the urban environment is also modelled, the "other" buildings must have at least 3 meshes cells in all directions
  • The vertical resolution must be fine ( \delta < 10 m) up to a height of 3H.
  • The vertical resolution must be fine near the ground, especially if we are interested in pedestrian comfort (2m).

4.2.2 Specific recommendations for the buildings of interest

  • On the roof, and near the edges (corners) of the building, the mesh size must be "thin enough" to be able to represent wall indentations and recirculation areas. ( \delta < \frac{L_{\text{max}}}{10}) .
  • Overall, we want increasingly fine mesh sizes as the building approaches, however the expansion factor must remain below 1.2 - 1.3 near the surfaces (ratio between the sizes of 2 adjacent cells).

5. References

  1. Franke, J. ed., (2007). Best practice guideline for the CFD simulation of flows in the urban environment: COST action 732 quality assurance and improvement of microscale meteorological models. Meteorological Inst.
  2. J Franke, C Hirsch, AG Jensen, HW Krüs, M Schatzmann, PS Westbury, SD Miles, JA Wisse, NG Wright. (2004). Recommendations on the use of CFD in wind engineering. Cost Action C, vol. 14
  3. Blocken, B., Janssen, W. D., & van Hooff, T. (2012). CFD simulation for pedestrian wind comfort and wind safety in urban areas: General decision framework and case study for the Eindhoven University campus. Environmental Modelling & Software, 30, 15-34.
  4. Blocken, B. Stathopoulos, T. Carmeliet, J. (2007), CFD simulation of the Atmospheric boundary layer : wall functionproblems. Atmospheric Environment, 41(2), 238-252
  5. Tominaga, Y., Mochida, A., Yoshie, R., Kataoka, H., Nozu, T., Yoshikawa, M., & Shirasawa, T. (2008). AIJ guidelines for practical applications of CFD to pedestrian wind environment around buildings. Journal of wind engineering and industrial aerodynamics, 96(10), 1749-1761.
  6. Sagaut, P. (2006). Large eddy simulation for incompressible flows: an introduction. Springer Science & Business Media.
  7. Roache, P. J. (1994). Perspective: a method for uniform reporting of grid refinement studies. Journal of Fluids Engineering, 116(3), 405-413.
  8. Roache, P. J. (1997). Quantification of uncertainty in computational fluid dynamics. Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics, 29(1), 123-160.
  9. Grazzini, Fabienne. «Étude expérimentale de la dipsersion de polluants en présence d’obstacles.» Thèse de doctorat, 1999.
  10. Richards, H., et R. Hoxey. « Appropriate boundary conditions for computational wind engineering models using the k-ϵ turbulence model .» Journal of Wind Engineering and Industrial Aerodynamics, 1993: 145-153.
  11. Lu, Hao (2008). « A priori tests of one-equation LES modeling of rotating turbulence« . International Journal of Modern Physics C 19 (2): 1949-1964.
  12. Wikipedia contributors. (2018, May 16). Law of the wall. In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 11:56, June 6, 2018, from https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Law_of_the_wall&oldid=841570819

CFD Urbaine

1. Modélisation de la turbulence

1.1 Approches globales

En théorie, il est possible de résoudre tout problème de mécanique des fluides grâce aux équations de Navier-Stokes. Cependant cette approche (appelé DNS – Direct Numerical Simulation), est aujourd’hui encore beaucoup trop coûteuse en ressources numériques, et demanderait d’avoir une discrétisation spatiale extrêmement fine pour pouvoir capter toutes les échelles de turbulences et ce sur l’intégralité du domaine étudié.

La première solution pour réduire cette demande en calcul est d’avoir recours à la méthode appelée LES – Large Eddy Simulation. L’idée est de ne simuler (représenter) que les échelles les plus larges de turbulence (les plus « gros tourbillons »), et prendre en compte ce qui se passe aux échelles inférieures à l’aide de modèles (voir figure ci dessous). Cependant de nombreuses discussions sont encore en cours sur le type de modélisation optimal [6].

Fig. 1 – Simulations de turbulences | Gauche : simulation direct (DNS) | Droite : simulation uniquement des grandes turbulences, les petites étant prises en compte par un modèle physique (LES) | D’après [11]
La méthode la plus largement utilisé pour la résolution des écoulements turbulents est aujourd’hui la méthode RANS – Reynolds Averaged Navier Stokes [2]. Cette méthode moyenne temporellement les équations d’écoulements sur toutes les échelles de turbulences. De façon analogue aux méthodes LES, il convient ensuite de modéliser les effets de la turbulence sur le flux moyen : c’est le rôle des modèles de turbulence discutés dans la suite.

Les simulations se font en régime établi (Steady State), du fait que les données météo sont moyennées au minimum sur des périodes allant de 15 à 30 minutes.

1.2 Modélisation de la turbulence

Au sein des approches de types RANS, les modèles de turbulence ont pour but de définir les variables turbulentes du flux en fonction des variables globales du flux moyen. Deux grandes familles d’approches existent : une première est fondée sur la viscosité des tourbillons, et dérive les contraintes turbulentes à partir de la vitesse moyenne ; et la seconde considère des équations différentielles supplémentaires.

Historiquement, l’approche la plus utilisé reste l’approche linéaire « k - \epsilon » :

  •   k : énergie cinétique turbulente,
  •   \epsilon : dissipation de l’énergie cinétique turbulente.

Un problème connu de ce modèle est la surproduction d’énergie cinétique turbulente dans les zones stagnantes. De nombreux auteurs ont tenté d’améliorer ce modèle, ce qui a permis de façon générale d’améliorer la prédiction des coefficients de pression ( C_p ), mais diminue la qualité des prédictions de vitesses, en particulier à l’arrière des obstacles.

Ce modèle, et les différentes variantes qui ont suivi peuvent se retrouver ici :

  •   k - \epsilon :
    • Problèmes de « surplus d’énergie » dans les zones stagnantes
  • Modifications du k - \epsilon :
    • Bons coefficients de pressions sur les façades, mais mauvaises prédictions des vitesses en aval des obstacles
  • RNG k - \epsilon (ReNormalization Group) ou Realizable k - \epsilon
    • Atténuation des problèmes de stagnation
    • Meilleurs résultats en aval des obstacles
    • Semble fonctionner le mieux pour la simulation d’environnements complexes (nombreux bâtiments).
  • SST k - \omega (Shear Stress Transport )
    • A priori la meilleure variante du k - \epsilon

Globalement, tous les modèles linéaires souffrent de l’hypothèse d’isotropie des contraintes normales de Reynolds. Il faudrait utiliser en théorie des modèles non-linéaires, mais encore trop peu d’applications existent à ce jour.

En résumé, il vaut mieux éviter le modèle k - \epsilon  tel quel et utiliser au moins Realizable k - \epsilon , ou mieux encore le SST k - \omega. Dans le cas de modélisation de multiples bâtiments, le modèle  RNG k - \epsilon  semble aussi fournir de bons résultats.

2. La couche limite atmosphérique

2.1 Origines

Lorsqu’un fluide s’écoule le long d’une paroi immobile, les vitesses sur la paroi sont nulles, alors que loin de la paroi elles sont égales à la vitesse de l’écoulement non perturbé, comme illustré sur la figure 2. Cette zone de gradient de vitesse se nomme Couche Limite.

Fig. 2 – Profil de vitesse d’une couche limite au-dessus d’une plaque (tiré de Wikipédia.org)

Selon une normale à la surface, la vitesse va donc varier entre 0 m.s-1 et un maximum. La loi de variation dépend de la viscosité du fluide qui induit des frottements entre les couches voisines.

La couche limite se définit comme la région de l’écoulement où les effets visqueux sont au moins aussi importants que les effets inertiels. De façon générale on définit \Delta (x) l’épaisseur de la couche limite  telle que :

u\left( \Delta (x) \right) = 0,99 \times u_{\text{inf}}

u_{\text{inf}} est la vitesse à l’infini (écoulement non  perturbé), comme illustré dans la Figure 3 qui suit.

 

2.2 Définitions

La couche limite atmosphérique (CLA) représente la partie de l’atmosphère directement sensible aux effets de la surface terrestre (continentale ou océanique). Au-delà de cette zone, on considère que l’influence du sol est négligeable.  On peut schématiquement diviser cette couche en 3 tranches, comme sur la  Figure 3 (tiré de [9]).

Fig. 3 – Couche Limite Atmosphérique

La première sous-couche rugueuse au voisinage immédiat du sol est une zone de mélange des sillages des obstacles rencontrés par le vent. Les champs de vitesses y sont très perturbés, et les forces de frottement y sont prépondérantes. Son épaisseur peut varier de quelques millimètres (surface de la mer) jusqu’à une dizaine de mètres (zones urbaines).

Immédiatement au-dessus se situe la Couche Limite de Surface (CLS), aussi appelée couche de mélange ou couche de Prandtl. Elle se définit comme la région où la température diminue rapidement avec l’altitude en journée, et plus généralement comme la région où les flux de quantité de mouvement et de chaleur (sensible et latente) sont conservatifs et égaux à ceux du sol. Au sein de cette zone, la turbulence est homogène, et la direction du vent ne varie pas (ou peu) avec l’altitude. La vitesse, elle, varie proportionnellement au logarithme de l’altitude. Elle représente environ 10% de la CLA, et s’étend sur des hauteurs allant de la dizaine à la centaine de mètres.

Enfin, on trouve la couche d’Ekman (aussi appelé couche limite dynamique), où la force de Coriolis (induite par la rotation de la terre) devient comparable aux forces de frottement au sol. Cela entraine des déviations de la direction du vent avec l’altitude, pouvant atteindre 30 à 40° dans la direction anticyclonique (vers la droite dans l’hémisphère Nord, et vers la gauche dans l’hémisphère Sud).

2.3 Caractérisation

La représentation du profil moyen du vent est établie à partir de résultats issus de la mécanique des fluides. En pratique, deux types de profils sont utilisés, l’un suit une logarithmique et l’autre une loi puissance, dépendant de l’altitude z .

2.3.1 Profil logarithmique

Bien qu’il n’existe pas à ce jour de description exacte de cette CLA, de nombreuses approximations existent. La plus répandue, préconisée par différents auteurs (e.g. [2] ou [3]) est la description proposé par  [10]. Celle-ci fait  l’hypothèse d’une vitesse verticale nulle, d’une pression constante dans la direction verticale et la direction d’écoulement, ainsi que de contraintes de cisaillement constantes dans la CLA. Ainsi le profil vertical de vitesse peut s’obtenir par la loi logarithmique suivante :

U(z)=\frac{u_*}{K} \ln \left( \frac{z+z_0}{z_0}\right)

U(z) est la vitesse à une altitude z, z_0 est la rugosité de surface, K la constante de von Karman (usuellement la valeur est autour de 0,4), et enfin u_* la vitesse de frottement. Cette dernière s’obtient par la relation :

u_* = \frac{KU_h}{\ln \left( \frac{h+z_0}{z_0} \right)}

Elle est calculée à partir de la vitesse de référence U_h mesurée à une altitude h. C’est typiquement la valeur mesurée dans les stations météorologiques à 10m de hauteur.

2.3.2 Profil loi puissance

Dans certain cas, par soucis de simplicité, une approximation plus simple peut être utilisée et permet une évaluation plus rapide des vitesses d’écoulements en fonction de la hauteur. Il s’agit de la « loi puissance », qui s’exprime comme suit :

\frac{u(z)}{u_0} = \left( \frac{z}{H_0} \right)^m

u_0 est la vitesse d’écoulement d’air mesurée à une hauteur H_0 z est l’altitude et enfin  un paramètre qui caractérise la distorsion du profil. Sa valeur est usuellement comprise entre 0,1 et 0,2.

Note : Il n’y a pas de justification mathématique sur la validité de cette loi, cependant elle semble être en adéquation avec les profils expérimentaux mesurés, surtout après avoir ajusté le paramètre  m .

2.3.3 Turbulence de la CLA

Lorsque l’on utilise des modèles de turbulences à 2 équations (les plus utilisés), les valeurs et profils de k et \epsilon  s’obtiennent aussi avec l’hypothèse de CLA. Les formules pour les déterminer se trouvent dans la référence [10] et sont le résultat d’équations de conservations.

3. Le traitement des parois

Fig. 5 – Law of the wall d’après [12]
La couche limite en abord de parois est divisée en trois zones caractérisées par la distance à la paroi adimensionnelle y^+ définie telle que y^+=\frac{U^+ y}{\nu} avec U^+ la vitesse de cisaillement, \nu, la viscosité cinématique, et y la distance à la paroi. Ces trois zones, illustrées en Figure 5, sont:

  • la sous-couche visqueuse: dans cette zone où 0\le y^+<5, les effets visqueux dominent.
  • la zone tampon où y^+ est tel que 5<y^+<30.
  • la couche logarithmique avec y^+ compris entre 30 et 300. Dans cette zone, les effets turbulents dominent et la vitesse suit la loi logarithmique définie par:
    U^+=\frac{1}{\kappa}\log y^+ + C

Il y a deux approches couramment utilisées en CFD pour modéliser la turbulence en paroi. D’un coté, il y a les modèles de turbulences à « faible nombre de Reynolds » qui calculent l’écoulement dans toute la couche limite. L’inconvénient de cette méthode est qu’elle requiert un maillage très fin avec des premières mailles localisées dans la sous-couche visqueuse. D’autre part, il y a les modèles de turbulence dit à « haut nombre de Reynolds » qui modélisent l’écoulement dans la couche limite via la loi logarithmique. La précision des résultats en abord de paroi est réduite mais ces méthodes diminuent considérablement les temps de calcul.

4. Les recommandations pour l’aéraulique urbaine

4.1 Zone de modélisation

Si l’on s’intéresse à un bâtiment de hauteur H, il convient de modéliser  les faces latérales et la face supérieure à une distance minimum de 5H. Idéalement sur la face aval, il convient de modéliser une distance 15H  [2,5]. La distance accrue en aval de l’objet d’étude a pour but d’avoir « assez » d’espace pour obtenir un écoulement stable.

Fig. 5 – Domaine de modélisation pour des études multidirectionnelles (gauche) et unidirectionelles (droite), d’après [1]
 D’une façon générale, le « blocage » (ratio de surfaces entre la projection de l’objet d’étude et la face amont) doit être inférieur à 10%, et idéalement autour de 3 à 5%.

4.2 Discrétisations

4.2.1 Recommandations générales

  • D’une façon générale, il est préférable d’utiliser des éléments prismatiques (plutôt que tétraédriques).
  • Sauf cas particuliers, afin de limiter les problèmes de diffusion numérique, le maillage doit être construit dans l’axe du vent.
  • Pour tous les bâtiments modélisés, il convient d’avoir au moins 10 nœuds par dimensions.
  • Pour les « rues » (espace séparant 2 bâtiments voisins), il convient d’avoir un minimum de 6 à 8 nœuds ( < 2m) afin de pouvoir représenter les jets d’air, ainsi que les possibles décollements de parois.
  • Dans le cas où l’environnement urbain est aussi modélisé, les « autres » bâtiment doivent avoir au minimum 3 mailles dans toutes les directions
  • La résolution verticale doit être fine ( \delta < 10 m) jusqu’à une hauteur de 3H.
  • La résolution verticale doit être fine près du sol, spécialement si l’on s’intéresse au confort des piétons ( m).

4.2.2 Recommandations spécifiques au bâtiment d’étude

  • Sur le toit, et près des arrêtes (coins) du bâtiment, le maillage doit être « assez fin » pour être à même de représenter les décrochements de parois et les zones de recirculations ( \delta < \frac{L_{\text{max}}}{10}) .
  • Globalement on veut des maillages de plus en plus fins à l’approche du bâtiment, cependant le facteur d’expansion doit rester inférieur à 1.2 – 1.3 près des surfaces (ratio entre les tailles de 2 cellules adjacentes).

5. Pour aller plus loin

  1. Franke, J. ed., (2007). Best practice guideline for the CFD simulation of flows in the urban environment: COST action 732 quality assurance and improvement of microscale meteorological models. Meteorological Inst.
  2. J Franke, C Hirsch, AG Jensen, HW Krüs, M Schatzmann, PS Westbury, SD Miles, JA Wisse, NG Wright. (2004). Recommendations on the use of CFD in wind engineering. Cost Action C, vol. 14
  3. Blocken, B., Janssen, W. D., & van Hooff, T. (2012). CFD simulation for pedestrian wind comfort and wind safety in urban areas: General decision framework and case study for the Eindhoven University campus. Environmental Modelling & Software, 30, 15-34.
  4. Blocken, B. Stathopoulos, T. Carmeliet, J. (2007), CFD simulation of the Atmospheric boundary layer : wall functionproblems. Atmospheric Environment, 41(2), 238-252
  5. Tominaga, Y., Mochida, A., Yoshie, R., Kataoka, H., Nozu, T., Yoshikawa, M., & Shirasawa, T. (2008). AIJ guidelines for practical applications of CFD to pedestrian wind environment around buildings. Journal of wind engineering and industrial aerodynamics, 96(10), 1749-1761.
  6. Sagaut, P. (2006). Large eddy simulation for incompressible flows: an introduction. Springer Science & Business Media.
  7. Roache, P. J. (1994). Perspective: a method for uniform reporting of grid refinement studies. Journal of Fluids Engineering, 116(3), 405-413.
  8. Roache, P. J. (1997). Quantification of uncertainty in computational fluid dynamics. Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics, 29(1), 123-160.
  9. Grazzini, Fabienne. «Étude expérimentale de la dipsersion de polluants en présence d’obstacles.» Thèse de doctorat, 1999.
  10. Richards, H., et R. Hoxey. « Appropriate boundary conditions for computational wind engineering models using the k-ϵ turbulence model .» Journal of Wind Engineering and Industrial Aerodynamics, 1993: 145-153.
  11. Lu, Hao (2008). « A priori tests of one-equation LES modeling of rotating turbulence« . International Journal of Modern Physics C 19 (2): 1949-1964.
  12. Wikipedia contributors. (2018, May 16). Law of the wall. In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 11:56, June 6, 2018, from https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Law_of_the_wall&oldid=841570819