Urban Heat Island

1. Phenomenon

The city is subject to the urban heat island (UHI) phenomenon, which is characterized by higher temperatures in the conurbation than in the countryside. This difference is due to both the geometric characteristics and the type of surfaces, different in each environment:

  • Radiation trapping occurs during the day, when reflections of the sun's rays on built surfaces increase the amount of energy absorbed, as well as at night, due to the relative narrowness of the streets in relation to the façades, inhibiting radiant cooling towards the sky vault.
  • The tortuosity of the streets limits the wind speed compared to an open environment and thus reduces the cooling of the surfaces by convection.
  • The high proportion of mineral surfaces in the urban environment implies it stores more heat than vegetation, making night-time cooling less effective.
  • Evapotranspiration originating from low or high vegetation (i.e. the fact that it liberates water as vapour - hence the need for watering) helps to keep foliage temperatures relatively low. The shade provided by tree crowns also results in lower temperatures compared to a soil without a vegetated canopy.

The UHI phenomenon is illustrated in the following figure, taken from the "Cahiers de l'APUR" and representing the temperature difference between the centre of Paris and the surrounding rural environment.

In the context of global warming, which leads to an increase in the frequency and intensity of heatwaves, it seems imperative to be able to anticipate the temperature and comfort levels in the city of tomorrow.

In the context of global warming, which leads to an increase in the frequency and intensity of heat waves, it is imperative to be able to anticipate the temperature and comfort levels in the city of May.

In brief, different types of numerical models exist to predict the urban climate, from the regional to the street scale:

  • The TEB model developed at CNRM makes it possible to simulate air temperature changes on a large scale by coupling an urban canopy model with simplified "canyon" streets comprising a unidirectional heat transfer model from the ground to the canopy.
  • Coupled simulation tools, such as SOLENE-micro climat or ENVI-MET allow a higher level of detail for modelling the urban environment and offer a coupled resolution of convective and radiative heat transfer with anisothermal air simulation. This approach, which includes the dynamic thermal behaviour of buildings and their equipment as well as water-content balances on vegetation, has the distinct advantage of accuracy. The computational cost is nevertheless high, with calculation times of the order of several tens of hours for a simulated time of the order of a week.

The experience of the design process shows that it iterative is by nature: thus many project variants need to be evaluated. It is therefore necessary to have both a sufficiently detailed model for the assessment of the impact variants on the thermal behaviour of a space, and a fast enough tool allowing for the sensitivity analysis of parameters required during the design process.

2. A "simple" way: weak coupling

In order to meet this need to iterate, an alternative model was developed within the team, based on a decoupling of the thermal and aeraulic calculations. The idea is to make an additional use of the air velocity field originating from the CFD computations and to improve the accuracy of the calculation at a lower cost. The open softwares EnergyPlus and openFOAM are used to this end. The method developed aims at allowing an annual simulation of the phenomenon, in particular to evaluate the frequency of heatwaves over a full summer season. In terms of spatial scale, the simulation is carried out from the building to the neighbourhood. The following figure illustrates this situation as well as the time and space scales addressed by the existing tools.

Situation of the model in comparison with existing tools.

2.1 Thermal model

The capabilities of the EnergyPlus building simulation engine are used to obtain the incident solar fluxes at the façade and the temperatures of the different surfaces according to their composition (albedo, material, thickness, glazing...). Thus, the buildings are represented by distinct "thermal zones", the low vegetation is simulated with a "green roof" model incorporating the complete water balance and the trees are assumed to be mere shading obstructions (we assume they do not emit water vapour). The following figure illustrates the principle of the model.

Sketch of the different "thermal zones" or objects in the approach developed.

The integration of view factors in the radiation model was also developed using the "SurfaceProperty:SurroundingSurfaces" object in the EnergyPlus model, in order to improve the prediction.

2.2 Air flow

The "numerical wind tunnel" approach described in detail "next door" is implemented in order to calculate the velocity fields at an hourly scale, in compliance with the guidelines for such modelling practices. An example of results is provided below, showing the amplitude of the air velocity at a given time on the forecourt of Strasbourg station.

Wind velocity field at a given time on Strasbourg's station forecourt.

2.3 A by-product : local convection coefficients

An interesting by-product of the airflow simulation is the local air velocity near the walls, which can be fed back to the building simulation model.

The animation below show the surface temperature differences with/without local convection coefficients during the first week of the year. One can see the noticeable effect of wind-driven convection, with +/- 4 [K] of variation of surface temperatures.

Temperature differences with/without local heat exchange coefficients for a test case.

2.4 Yet another by-product: urban surroundings influence on energy consumption

Simulating the urban scene as a whole with a separation of thermal zones gives the energy consumption per building (heating, cooling, electricity) in addition to the outdoor comfort level, allowing for a holistic approach of the problem.

3D model of buildings within an urban scene.

2.5 Weak coupling principle

In order to avoid long, costly, anisothermal CFD calculations, we propose to neglect the influence of buoyancy on air movements: we assume that the air speed prevails over the temperature difference between the air and the surfaces in contact with it. In other words, natural convection is neglected.

This strong assumption is true in the presence of wind and wrong in its absence. However, this modelling approach, while not exact, considerably reduces the computational effort and, to us, appears more relevant than not doing the calculation at all.

Under this assumption, the problem reduces to a "simple" steady state heat balance for each cell of the mesh (see figure below for the 2D case), in accordance with the principle of conservation of energy.

Diagram of the contributions of the different terms on a cell for the calculation of the air temperature.

This simplified approach allows for the resolution of both scalar temperature and humidity fields. Thus the influence of evapotranspiration on temperature and the amount of water vapour in the ambient air are taken into account.

An example of the result is shown in the figure below, showing isovolumes being 2°C higher than the air inlet temperature in the meshed volume. The increase in air temperatures can be seen in the recirculation zones behind the buildings (i.e. downstream in the present case).

Temperature deviation from the inlet temperature in the fluid domain: influence of recirculation zones.

3. A word on solar flux absorption by water

In the following sections, details are provided on the modelling of solar radiation absorbed by water. Indeed, the phenomenon is seldom dealt with in the educational literature, hence we thought it would be of some use to expose it here.

3.1 Problematization

The solar radiation consists of wavelengths of the order of 0.1 to 2.5 µm. These are absorbed differently by the media they pass through, like infrared rays which are absorbed and reflected by glass (opaque to infrared radiation), thus producing the greenhouse effect. 0.1 \le \lambda \le 2.5 [µm]. Celles-ci sont absorbées différemment par les milieux qu’elles traversent, à l’instar des infrarouges qui sont absorbés et réfléchis par le verre (opaque au rayonnement infrarouge), produisant ainsi l’effet de serre.

Solar flux is considered as totally absorbed after \sim 90 [m] in water. The fraction of remaining energy at this depth is however very small: after \sim 2 [cm], 25% of radiation is already absorbed, mainly in the infrared domain [Rabl & Nielsen 1975].

The following points can be made:

  • infrared radiation is integrally absorbed within the first centimeters,
  • short wave radiation penetrates up to, \sim90 [m],
  • at a depth of 10 [cm], 45% of radiation is absorbed,
  • at a depth of 1 [m], 65% of radiation is absorbed.

It is therefore necessary to have a model that can represent absorption as a function of depth, differentiated according to the wavelength band considered.

3.2 Radiative absorption model

Solar flux is absorbed differently depending on the wavelength of the spectrum. [Kaushik 1980 ] proposes a formulation where the transmissivity as a function of depth is presented as the sum of the transmissivities in five different wavelength bands, such that :

\tau(z) = \sum_{i=1}^5 \mu_i e^{-n_iz}

The coefficients \mu_i, \nu_i for each wavelength band are given in the following table.

Wavelength band [micro-m] Fraction of solar energy \mu_i [-] Extinction coefficient \nu_i [1/m]
0.2-0.6 0.237 0.032
0.6-0.75 0.193 0.450
0.75-0.9 0.167 3
0.9-1.2 0.179 35
1.2-50 0.224 255

One can see that the fraction of the solar spectrum per wavelength band represented by coefficient \mu_i is close to the fraction of energy comprised in the reference solar spectrum ASTM G-173as indicated on following figure (on the latter, the theoretical black body spectrum of the sun is also drawn).

Energiy of the ASTM spectrum by wavelength band and black body spectrum emission for 5800 K.

The transmission coeffficient \tau(z) as a function of depth obtained with the previous equation is plotted on the figure below.

Transmission as a function of depth after Kaushik's equation.

Note - Kaushik's formula is valid for pure water. Depending on the turbidity of the aqueous medium, the absorption can of course be more substantial.

Let us now look at the flux absorbed by a slice of water at depth z , as presented below. The absorbed flux is given by the variation of the transmissivity with depth. The transmissivity decreases as a result of the absorption of radiation by its surrounding environment. We can therefore write that the absorbed flux in a slice between z and z +\Delta z is as:

\varphi_a =- (\tau(z+\Delta z) -\tau(z)) \varphi_s

Solar flux absorbed by a water layer.

References
[Kaushik et al., 1980] Kaushik, N., Bansal, P. et Sodha, M. (1980). Partitioned solar pond collector/storage system. Applied Energy, 7(1-3):169–190. 74
[Rabl et Nielsen, 1975] Rabl, A. et Nielsen, C. E. (1975). Solar ponds for space heating. Solar Energy, 17(1):1–12

4. Experimental validation

[under construction]

Îlot de chaleur urbain

1. Phénomène

La ville est sujette au phénomène d’îlot de chaleur urbain (ICU), qui est caractérisé par des températures plus élevées dans la conurbation par rapport à la campagne. Cette différence provient à la fois des caractéristiques géométriques et du type des surfaces, différents dans chaque environnement :

  • Le piégeage radiatif qui survient en journée, lorsque les réflexions des rayons solaires augmentent la quantité d’énergie absorbéeainsi que la nuit, du fait de la relative étroitesse des rues par rapport aux façades, inhibant le refroidissement avec le ciel. 
  • La tortuosité des rues limite la vitesse du vent par rapport à un milieu dégagé et réduit ainsi le rafraîchissement des surfaces par convection. 
  • La forte minéralisation de l’environnement urbain implique qu’il stocke plus de chaleur qu’un sol végétal, rendant le refroidissement nocturne moins perceptible.
  • L’évapotranspiration de la végétation basse ou haute (le fait qu’elle dégage de l’eau sous forme de vapeur – d’où la nécessité de l’arrosage) permet de maintenir une température de feuillage relativement basse. L’ombrage apporté par la couronne des arbres engendre également une diminution des températures par rapport à un sol sans couvert.

Le phénomène d’ICU est illustré sur la figure qui suit, tirée des Cahiers de l’APUR et représentant l’écart de température entre le centre-ville de Paris et le milieu rural environnant.

Illustration de l’effet d’îlot de chaleur urbain, réalisée par l’APUR.

Dans le contexte du réchauffement climatique, qui engendre une hausse de la fréquence et de l’intensité des épisodes caniculaires, il apparaît comme impératif de pouvoir anticiper les niveaux de température et de confort dans la ville de demain.

Différents types de modèles numériques existent pour prévoir le climat urbain, de l’échelle régionale à celle de la rue :

  • Le modèle TEB développé au CNRM permet de simuler à une large échelle les évolutions de température d’air en couplant une modèle de canopée urbaine avec des rues « canyon » simplifiées comportant un modèle unidirectionnel de transfert thermique, du sol vers la canopée.
  • Les outils de simulation couplés, comme SOLENE-micro climat ou ENVI-MET offrent un niveau de détail plus élevé pour la modélisation de l’environnement urbain et proposent une résolution couplée des transferts de chaleur par convection et rayonnement avec une simulation aéraulique anisotherme. Cette approche, qui inclut le comportement thermique dynamique des bâtiments et de leurs équipements ainsi que des bilans hydriques sur la végétation, a l’avantage certain de la précision. Le coût calculatoire est néanmoins élevé, avec des temps de calculs de l’ordre de plusieurs dizaines d’heures pour un temps simulé de l’ordre de la semaine.

L’expérience du processus de conception montre qu’il est par nature itératif : ainsi de nombreuses variantes de projets doivent être évaluées. Il importe donc de disposer d’un modèle suffisamment détaillé pour évaluer l’impact de l’aménagement sur le comportement thermique d’un espace et assez rapide pour permettre le test de variantes et l’analyse de sensibilité aux paramètres requise durant la conception.

2. Une approche : le couplage faible

Afin de répondre à ce besoin d’itérer, un modèle alternatif a été développé au sein d’AREP, basé sur un découplage des calculs thermique et aéraulique. L’idée est de valoriser les calculs de mécanique des fluides réalisés pour déterminer le champ des vitesses d’air et d’améliorer la précision du calcul à moindre coût. Les logiciels libres EnergyPlus et openFOAM sont utilisés à cette fin. En termes de placement, la méthode développée vise à permettre une simulation annuelle du phénomène, notamment pour évaluer la fréquence des épisodes caniculaires sur une saison estivale complète. En termes d’échelle spatiale, la simulation du bâtiment jusqu’au quartier est réalisée. La figure suivante illustre cette situation ainsi que les échelles de temps et d’espaces abordés par les outils existants.

Situation du modèle par rapport à certains outils existants.

2.1 Modèle thermique

On utilise les capacités du moteur de simulation thermique dynamique des bâtiments EnergyPlus pour obtenir les flux solaires incidents en façade et les températures des différentes surfaces en fonction de leur composition (albédo, matériau, épaisseur, vitrage…). Ainsi, les bâtiments sont représentés par des « zones thermiques » distinctes, la végétation basse est simulée avec un modèle de toiture végétalisée incorporant le bilan hydrique complet et les arbres sont supposés être des masques proches (sans calcul d’évaporation). La figure suivante illustre le du modèle principe.

Représentation des différentes « zones thermiques » dans le modèle développé.

L’intégration des facteurs de forme de rayonnement est également possible et fait actuellement l’objet d’un développement afin d’améliorer la modélisation.

2.2 Modèle aéraulique

L’approche de « soufflerie numérique » décrite en détail dans la « page d’à côté » est mise en oeuvre afin de calculer les champs des vitesses à l’échelle horaire, dans le respect des critères et bonnes pratiques de modélisation. Un exemple de résultat est fourni ci-après, montrant l’amplitude de la vitesse d’air à un instant donné sur le parvis de la gare de Strasbourg.

Champ des vitesses à un instant donné sur le parvis de la gare de Strasbourg.

2.3 Un coproduit : l’intégration des coefficients locaux de convection

Un coproduit de la simulation aéraulique intéressant à valoriser est la vitesse d’air locale proche des parois : en effet, celle-ci influe sur le coefficient d’échange convectif du modèle de simulation thermique dynamique.

L’animation ci-dessous donne les écarts de température de surface. On constate l’effet non négligeable de la convection liée au vent, avec une amplitude de 4°C d’écart positif ou négatif.

Différences de températures de surface avec/sans coefficients d’échange locaux sur un cas de démonstration.

2.4 Un (autre) coproduit : l’influence de l’environnement urbain sur les consommations d’énergie

Le fait de simuler la scène urbaine dans sa globalité avec une séparation des zones thermiques donne les consommations d’énergie par bâtiment (chauffage, climatisation, électricité) en sus du niveau de confort en extérieur, permettant une approche holistique du problème.

Géométrie de différents bâtiments dans une scène urbaine.

2.5 Principe du couplage faible

Afin de s’épargner les calculs de CFD anisotherme, on se propose de négliger l’influence de la « flottabilité » ou poussée d’Archimède sur les mouvements d’air : on suppose que la vitesse d’air l’emporte sur la différence de température entre l’air et les surfaces à son contact. Autrement dit, on néglige la convection naturelle.

Cette hypothèse forte est vraie en présence de vent et simplificatrice en son absence. L’approche de modélisation, à défaut d’être exacte, permet de réduire considérablement l’effort calculatoire et est plus pertinente que de renoncer à procéder au calcul.

Sous cette hypothèse, celui-ci se réduit à un « simple » bilan thermique en régime permanent pour chaque maille (voir figure ci-après pour le cas 2D), conformément au principe de conservation de l’énergie.

Schéma des contributions au bilan sur une maille pour le calcul de la température d’air.

Cette approche simplifiée permet de résoudre à la fois le champ scalaire des températures et celui des humidités. Ainsi l’influence de l’évapotranspiration sur la température et la quantité de vapeur d’eau dans l’air ambient sont également prises en compte.

Un exemple de résultat est présenté sur la figure ci-dessous, montrant les isovolumes supérieures de 2°C à la température d’entrée d’air dans le volume maillé. On peut y observer l’augmentation des températures d’air dans les zones de recirculation en aval de l’écoulement, derrière les bâtiments.

Écart de température avec la température d’entrée dans le domaine fluide : influence des zones de recirculation.

3. Un mot sur la modélisation du flux solaire absorbé par l’eau

Dans les sections qui suivent, quelques mots sur la modélisation du rayonnement solaire absorbé par l’eau, phénomène peu traité dans la littérature pédagogique, qu’il nous a semblé bon de détailler ci-dessous.

3.1 Introduction au problème

Le rayonnement solaire est constitué de longueurs d’ondes de l’ordre de 0.1 \le \lambda \le 2.5 [µm]. Celles-ci sont absorbées différemment par les milieux qu’elles traversent, à l’instar des infrarouges qui sont absorbés et réfléchis par le verre (opaque au rayonnement infrarouge), produisant ainsi l’effet de serre.

On considère que le flux solaire est totalement absorbé après avoir parcouru \sim 90 [m] dans l’eau. La fraction d’énergie restante à cette profondeur est cependant très faible : à une profondeur de \sim 2 [cm], 25% du rayonnement a déjà été absorbé, principalement dans les infrarouges [Rabl & Nielsen 1975].

On peut retenir les points suivants :

  • l’infrarouge est intégralement absorbé dans les premiers centimètres,
  • le rayonnement de courte longueur d’onde pénètre l’eau sur \sim90 [m],
  • à 10 [cm] de profondeur, 45% du rayonnement a été absorbé,
  • à 1 [m] de profondeur, 65% du rayonnement a été absorbé.

Il convient donc de disposer d’un modèle permettant de représenter l’absorption en fonction de la profondeur, de manière différenciée en fonction de la bande de longueur d’onde considérée.

3.2 Modèle d’absorption du rayonnement

Le flux solaire est absorbé différemment en fonction de la longueur d’onde du spectre. [Kaushik 1980 ] propose une formulation où la transmissivité en fonction de la profondeur est présentée comme la somme des transmissivités dans cinq bandes de longueurs d’onde différentes, telle que :

\tau(z) = \sum_{i=1}^5 \mu_i e^{-n_iz}

Les coefficients \mu_i, \nu_i pour chaque bande de longueur d’onde sont donnés dans la table qui suit.

Plage de longueur d'onde [µm] Fraction de l'énergie solaire \mu_i [-] Coefficient d'extinction \nu_i [1/m]
0.2-0.6 0.237 0.032
0.6-0.75 0.193 0.450
0.75-0.9 0.167 3
0.9-1.2 0.179 35
1.2-50 0.224 255

On constate que la répartition de l’énergie du spectre solaire par bande représentée par le coefficient \mu_i est proche de la fraction de l’énergie comprise dans le spectre de référence ASTM G-173, comme indiqué sur la figure qui suit (sur celle-ci, le spectre théorique du soleil « corps noir » est aussi présenté).

Energie du spectre ASTM par bande de longueur d’onde et émission du corps noir à 5800 K.

Le coefficient de transmission \tau(z) en fonction de la profondeur obtenu avec l’équation ci-avant est illustré ci-dessous.

Transmissivité en fonction de la profondeur d’après l’équation de Kaushik.

Remarque — La formule de Kaushik est valable pour de l’eau pure. En fonction de la turbidité du milieu aqueux considéré, l’absorption peut bien sûr être plus conséquente.

Intéressons-nous maintenant au flux absorbé par une tranche d’eau à la profondeur z , tel que représenté sur la figure suivante. Le flux absorbé est donné par la variation de la transmissivité en fonction de la profondeur. En effet, celle-ci diminue du fait de l’absorption du rayonnement par le milieu environnant. On peut donc écrire que le flux absorbé dans une tranche comprise entre z et z +\Delta z vaut :

\varphi_a =- (\tau(z+\Delta z) -\tau(z)) \varphi_s

Flux solaire absorbé par une couche d’eau.

Références
[Kaushik et al., 1980] Kaushik, N., Bansal, P. et Sodha, M. (1980). Partitioned solar pond collector/storage system. Applied Energy, 7(1-3):169–190. 74
[Rabl et Nielsen, 1975] Rabl, A. et Nielsen, C. E. (1975). Solar ponds for space heating. Solar Energy, 17(1):1–12

4. Validation expérimentale

[section en construction]