Field Projections

1. Presentation of the problem

A common pitfall when solving problems with multiple physics is that the use of multiple tools often results in the creation of several meshes (see figure below). It is then a question of projecting the fields on a common grid in order to be able to carry out calculations at the same point in the space for the two calculated quantities.

Difference in mesh size between the tool for calculating solar fluxes and air velocities over a geometry.

In the following section, a mathematical tool is presented to project one field onto another, regular to no.

 

2. Projection methods

There are several algorithms of varying complexity to perform a field projection. Some variants are presented in this section.

2.1. Nearest neighbors

One technique for projecting a field onto another is to solve a minimization problem. The brief method is explained here given in code Aster in dimension two for the algorithm of the closest neighbors.

The aim is to project a cloud of points N bearing the field \varphi on a number of points M different of N. Let us call \psi la projection de \varphi on M.

Two clouds of points N and M, respectively initial and projection

For each point k belonging M with coordinates (x_k,y_k), we're looking for its n nearest neighbors belonging to N Nas shown in following Figure.

Illustrations of the n=5 closest neighbours of point k

The value of the field on the projected point \psi_k is computed with coefficients a_k,b_k,c_k such that:

\psi_k = a_k + b_k x_k + c_k y_k

It is therefore a question of finding, for all points k of the cloud Mthe arrays [a_k], [b_k], [c_k] of coefficients that minimize the distance between the projected field \psi field and the original field \varphiThus, for all point k of the cloud M we try to minimize the least squares \varepsilon_k between the \psi_k field and the original field \varphi_i on the n nearest neighbours

\varepsilon_k = \sum_{i=1}^{n} w(d_i) \big(\psi_k-\varphi_i \big)^2

Where the weighting function w(d_i) depends on distance d_i between point (x_i,y_i) of the initial cloud and point k of the projection grid (x_k,y_k) :

w(d_i) = e^{-(\frac{d_i}{d_{r}})^\beta}

Where
d_i is the distance between (i-k) , i. e. d_i=\sqrt{(x_i-x_k)^2+(y_i-y_k)^2},
d_r is the reference distance of the mesh. This is defined as the radius of the smallest circle centred at a point of M and containing three points of the cloud Nas shown in the figure below (this radius can be determined with a kdtree from the scipy Python library for example). As a first approximation, if the distance \Delta_x between 2 points is known (e.g. in a regular mesh) we may consider d_r \sim \frac{\Delta x}{2}. Otherwise, on can take the distance d_r \sim \frac{D^2}{N} = \frac{2D}{\sqrt{N}} where D is the greatest distance between any two points of the cloud.

Illustration of the reference distance d_r

 

The choice of the parameter set (n,M,\beta,d_{r}) will influence the global algorithm performance: given the cloud point distances one have to set a number M big enough, while keeping in mind that the calculation time is proportional to M. Furthermore, chosing \beta>1implies that the influence of distant points is quickly soften when their distance from the reference point is greater than d_{r}.

Tests conducted on analytical fields with a homogeneous point density have shown however that increasing the number of neighbors does not affect the quality of the projection. For such fields, the use of n \in [4,8] is recommended, with a weighting function coefficient of \beta=1.5.

Example of a field projected on a regular grid using the nearest neighbour method.

2.2 Shepard's method

(adapted from T. Kliyam internship at AREP)

This method is a form of inverse distance weighting which is a spatial interpolation method. The main effort here will be to build an interpolation function Q(x,y) for the considered field, instead of using directly the value of the field

In the analytical fields studied, this method is \sim 2 \times more performant in terms of precision, for an execution time increasing by an order of magnitude. If the gain may seem small compared to the computation time, the robustness of Shepard's method for the projection of real fields has been proven, in particular because it induces less smoothing on them.

Construction of an interpolation function on the initial field N

The simplest form of the method is called "Shepard's method" (Shepard 1968), with the following equation:
f\left(x,y\right)=\sum_{k=1}^{N}{w_k\left(x,y\right) F_k}

Where w_k is a weighting function generally dependent on distance and F_k is a function that calculates the value at the point k. In the simplest cases, such as the nearest neighbor method, we define F_k=\varphi_kthe value of the initial field at point k.

In Shepard's method, the weighting is defined as:

  w_k=\frac{\left[\frac{\left(R_q-d_k\right)_+}{R_q\cdot d_k}\right]^2}{\sum_{k=1}^{N}\left[\frac{\left(R_q-d_k\right)_+}{R_q\cdot d_k}\right]^2}

Where

d_k is the distance between point (x,y) and point (x_k,y_k) , i. e. { d_k=\sqrt{\left(x-x_k\right)^2+\left(y-y_k\right)^2}}, with \left(x,y\right) the coordiantes of the interpolated point and (x_k,y_k) the coordinates of the cloud of points of the initial field.

R_q is the influence radius of a circle centered on the point (x,y) (represented on the figure below). In practice we choose N_q \sim 40 - 50. The radius of influence is calculated so that

(R_q-d_k)_+= R_q - d_k \ \ \text{ pour }\ \ d_k < R_q
(R_q-d_k)_+=0 \text{ pour  } d_k \ge R_q

Influence radius R_q in the N field

Let D be the distance between the 2 most distant points of N. We define R_q through the nodal function parameter N_q such that
  R_q=\frac{D}{2}\sqrt{\frac{N_q}{N}}

As for the value of the function F_kwe then construct an interpolation law Q_k(x,y) defined as follows:

Q_k(x,y)=\varphi_k+a_{k2}(x-x_k)+a_{k3}(y-y_k)+a_{k4}(x-x_k)^2+a_{k5}(x-x_k)(y-y_k)\\+a_{k6}(y-y_k)^2

Where \varphi_k is the point value at (x_k,y_k) and the coefficients (a_{k2}, ...,\ a_{k6}) are specific to each point (x_k,y_k). They are determined by the following least squares minimization, for k \in [1,N^*], where N^* is the number of points in the radius of influence R_q (in order not to overload the notations we will write indifferently N^* and N in the following, indeed, the weighting function cancels the contribution of the other points of the cloud):

\varepsilon_k = \sum_{ i=1\ et\ i\neq k}^{N^*}\left [ \frac{Q_k(x_i,y_i)-\varphi_i}{\rho_k(x_i,y_i)} \right ]^2

Explicitly:

\varepsilon_k = \sum_{ i=1\ et\ i\neq k}^{N^*} \bigg [ \frac{(R_q-d_i)_+}{R_qd_i} \bigg( \varphi_k+a_{k2}(x_i-x_k)+a_{k3}(y_i-y_k)+a_{k4}(x_i-x_k)^2 \\ +a_{k5}(x_i-x_k)(y_i-y_k)+a_{k6}(y_i-y_k)^2 - \varphi_i \bigg) \bigg ]^2

With d_i the distance between points i and k d_i= \sqrt{(x_k-x_i)^2+(y_k-y_i)^2}

The interpolation equation then becomes :

f(x,y)=\sum_{k=1}^{N^*}{w_k(x,y) \cdot Q_k(x,y)}

Note that the computational effort is located in the identification step of the parameters a_{2k},..., a_{6k} : the greater the number N_q is, the larger the number of points involved, which increases the number of coefficients to be determined for the minimization function.

Calculation of the projection on the field M

We then define the radius of influence R_wof which an illustration is given in the Figure below, such that:

R_w=\frac{D}{2}\cdot \sqrt{\frac{N_w}{N}}

In practice, an effective choice is to take N_w=N_q/2.

Radius of influence Rw and distance dk (from (Klinyam 2019))

The projection on the point (x_m,y_m) of the cloud M is calculated by summing the interpolation functions for each point in the radius of influence R_w  (see figure below):

\psi_m=\sum_{k=1}^{N}{w_k(x_m,y_m)}\cdot Q_k(x_m,y_m)

Projected field calculation with Q_k interpolation functions of points within the radius of influence (from (Klinyam 2019)).

It is then necessary to calculate the projection \psi_m with the weighting function w_k defined analogously to the equation \eqref{eq:shep1_wk2} whose radius of influence R_w is defined according to the equation \eqref{eq:shep_rq} using the influence parameter N_w.

An applied example of Shepard's method is shown below.

Applied example with urban air flows: amplification factor map - Initial field (left) and projected (right) (from (Klinyam 2019)).

Results of the various minimisation algorithms on the execution time

Lastly, we try out some of the internal functions from the Optimize library from Scipy for an analytical 2D field projection problem. Interestingly, the L-BFGS-B method is the fastest. Above a threshold of about 2000 points on which we compute the interpollation function Q(x,y), one can notice a linear increase of the execution time.

Execution times for three minimisation algorithms (from (Klinyam 2019))

Projection de champs

1. Présentation du problème

Un écueil courant lors de la résolution de problèmes avec des physiques multiples est que l’utilisation de plusieurs outils entraîne souvent la création de maillages différents (voir la figure ci-dessous). Il s’agit alors de projeter les champs sur une grille commune afin de pouvoir réaliser des calculs en un même point de l’espace pour les deux grandeurs calculées.

Différence de maillage entre l’outil pour le calcul des flux solaires et des vitesses d’air sur une géométrie.

Dans la section qui suit, on présente un outil mathématique permettant de projeter un champ sur un autre, régulier au non.

 

2. Méthodes de projection

Il existe plusieurs algorithmes de complexité variable pour réaliser une projection de champ. On en présente quelques variantes dans cette section.

2.1. Les plus proches voisins

Une technique pour projeter un champ sur l’autre consiste à résoudre un problème de minimisation. On explicite ici la méthode succincte donnée dans code Aster en dimension deux pour l’algorithme des plus proches voisins.

Il s’agit de projeter un nuage de points N portant un champ \varphi sur un ensemble de points M différent de N. Appelons \psi la projection de \varphi sur M.

Deux nuages de points N et M, respectivement initial et de projection

Pour chaque point k appartenant à M de coordonnées (x_k,y_k), on cherche ses n plus proches voisins appartenant à N, ainsi qu’illustré sur la Figure qui suit.

Illustrations des n=5 plus proches voisins du point k

La valeur du champ sur le point projeté \psi_k est calculée avec les coefficients a_k,b_k,c_k de sorte que :

\psi_k = a_k + b_k x_k + c_k y_k

Il s’agit donc de trouver, pour l’ensemble des points k du nuage M, les vecteurs [a_k], [b_k], [c_k] des coefficients qui minimisent la distance entre le champ projeté \psi et le champ \varphi. Ainsi, pour tout point k du nuage M on cherche à minimiser les moindres carrés \varepsilon_k entre la fonction \psi_k et le champ \varphi_i sur les n plus proches voisins du point :

\varepsilon_k = \sum_{i=1}^{n} w(d_i) \big(\psi_k-\varphi_i \big)^2

Où la fonction de pondération w(d_i) dépend de la distance d_i entre le point (x_i,y_i) du nuage initial et le point k de la grille de projection (x_k,y_k) :

w(d_i) = e^{-(\frac{d_i}{d_{r}})^\beta}

Avec :
d_i est la distance (i-k) soit d_i=\sqrt{(x_i-x_k)^2+(y_i-y_k)^2},
d_r est la distance de référence du maillage. Celle-ci est définie comme le rayon du plus petit cercle centré en un point de M contenant trois points du nuage N, comme illustré sur la figure ci-après (on pourra déterminer ce rayon avec un kdtree du package scipy par exemple). En première approximation, si la distance \Delta_x entre deux points du nuage est connue (cas d’un maillage régulier par exemple), on peut prendre d_r \sim \frac{\Delta x}{2}. Autrement, on pourra aussi utiliser la distance d_r \sim \frac{D^2}{N} = \frac{2D}{\sqrt{N}}D est la distance entre les deux points les plus éloignés du nuage.

Illustration de la distance de référence d_r.

 

Le choix du jeu de paramètres (n,M,\beta,d_{r}) influe sur la performance globale de l’algorithme : selon la distance entre points du maillage il convient d’avoir un nombre de points de projection M suffisants, tout en gardant à l’esprit que la durée de calcul est proportionnelle à M. De plus, s’il l’on choisit \beta>1, l’influence des points lointains est rapidement amortie lorsque leur distance au point de référence est supérieure à d_{r}.

Les tests menés sur champs analytiques avec un densité de points homogène ont montré cependant que l’augmentation du nombre de voisins n’affecte pas la qualité de la projection. Pour de tels champs l’utilisation de n \in [4,8] est conseillée, avec pour coefficient de fonction de pondération \beta=1.5.

Exemple de champ projeté sur une grille régulière selon la méthode des plus proches voisins.

2.2 La méthode de Shepard

(élaboré à partir des travaux de T. Klinyam au sein d’AREP)

Cette méthode est une forme de pondération inverse à la distance qui est une méthode d’interpolation spatiale. L’effort principal ici va consister à construire une fonction d’interpolation Q(x,y) pour le champ considéré, au lieu d’utiliser directement la valeur du champ.

Sur les champs analytiques étudiés, cette méthode est \sim 2 \times plus performante en termes de précision, pour un temps d’exécution augmentant d’un ordre de grandeur. Si le gain peut paraître faible par rapport au temps de calcul, la robustesse de la méthode de Shepard pour la projection de champs réels a été éprouvée, notamment car elle induit moins de lissage sur ceux-ci.

Construction d’une fonction d’interpolation sur le champ initial N

La forme la plus simple de la méthode est appelée « Méthode de Shepard » (Shepard 1968) avec l’équation suivante :
f\left(x,y\right)=\sum_{k=1}^{N}{w_k\left(x,y\right) F_k}

w_k est une fonction de pondération généralement dépendante de la distance et F_k est une fonction qui permet de calculer la valeur au point k. Dans les cas les plus simples, comme la méthode des plus proches voisins, on définit F_k=\varphi_k, soit la valeur du champ initial au point k.

Dans la méthode de Shepard, on définit la pondération telle que :

  w_k=\frac{\left[\frac{\left(R_q-d_k\right)_+}{R_q\cdot d_k}\right]^2}{\sum_{k=1}^{N}\left[\frac{\left(R_q-d_k\right)_+}{R_q\cdot d_k}\right]^2}

d_k est la distance entre le point (x,y) et le point (x_k,y_k) soit { d_k=\sqrt{\left(x-x_k\right)^2+\left(y-y_k\right)^2}}, dont \left(x,y\right) sont les coordonnées du point interpolé et (x_k,y_k) sont des coordonnées du nuage des points du champ de départ

R_q est le rayon d’influence d’un cercle centré sur le point (x,y) (représenté sur la figure ci-dessous), En pratique on choisit N_q \sim 40 - 50. Le rayon d’influence est calculé de sorte que :

(R_q-d_k)_+= R_q - d_k \ \ \text{ pour }\ \ d_k < R_q
(R_q-d_k)_+=0 \text{ pour  } d_k \ge R_q

Rayon d’influence Rq dans le champ N (tiré de (Klinyam 2019))

Soit D la distance entre 2 points les plus éloignés du nuage N. On définit R_q via le paramètre de fonction nodale N_q tel que :
  R_q=\frac{D}{2}\sqrt{\frac{N_q}{N}}

Pour ce qui est de la valeur de la fonction F_k, on construit ensuite une loi d’interpolation Q_k(x,y) définie de la manière suivante :

Q_k(x,y)=\varphi_k+a_{k2}(x-x_k)+a_{k3}(y-y_k)+a_{k4}(x-x_k)^2+a_{k5}(x-x_k)(y-y_k)\\+a_{k6}(y-y_k)^2

\varphi_k est la valeur sur le point (x_k,y_k) et les coefficients (a_{k2}, ...,\ a_{k6}) sont propres à chaque point (x_k,y_k). On les détermine par la minimisation des moindres carrés suivants, pour k \in [1,N^*], où N^* est le nombre de points dans le rayon d’influence R_q (afin de ne pas surcharger les notations on écrira indifféremment N^* et N dans la suite, en effet la fonction de pondération annule la contribution des autres points du nuage) :

\varepsilon_k = \sum_{ i=1\ et\ i\neq k}^{N^*}\left [ \frac{Q_k(x_i,y_i)-\varphi_i}{\rho_k(x_i,y_i)} \right ]^2

Soit, explicitement :

\varepsilon_k = \sum_{ i=1\ et\ i\neq k}^{N^*} \bigg [ \frac{(R_q-d_i)_+}{R_qd_i} \bigg( \varphi_k+a_{k2}(x_i-x_k)+a_{k3}(y_i-y_k)+a_{k4}(x_i-x_k)^2 \\ +a_{k5}(x_i-x_k)(y_i-y_k)+a_{k6}(y_i-y_k)^2 - \varphi_i \bigg) \bigg ]^2

Avec d_i la distance entre les points i et k d_i= \sqrt{(x_k-x_i)^2+(y_k-y_i)^2}

L’équation d’interpolation devient alors :

f(x,y)=\sum_{k=1}^{N^*}{w_k(x,y) \cdot Q_k(x,y)}

On notera que l’effort calculatoire est situé dans l’étape d’identification des paramètres a_{2k},..., a_{6k} : plus le nombre N_q est grand, plus le nombre de points concerné est important, ce qui augmente la quantité de coefficients à déterminer pour la fonction de minimisation.

Calcul de la projection sur le champ M

On définit alors le rayon d’influence R_w, dont une illustration est donnée sur la Figure ci-après, tel que :

R_w=\frac{D}{2}\cdot \sqrt{\frac{N_w}{N}}

En pratique, un choix efficace consiste à prendre N_w=N_q/2.

Rayon d’influence Rw et distance dk (tiré de (Klinyam 2019))

La projection sur le point (x_m,y_m) du nuage M est calculée en faisant la somme des fonctions d’interpolations pour chaque point dans le rayon d’influence R_w  (voir figure ci-après) :

\psi_m=\sum_{k=1}^{N}{w_k(x_m,y_m)}\cdot Q_k(x_m,y_m)

Calcul du champ projeté avec les fonctions d’interpolation Q_k des points dans le rayon d’influence (tiré de (Klinyam 2019)).

Il s’agit ensuite de calculer la projection \psi_m avec la fonction de pondération w_k définie de manière analogue à l’équation \eqref{eq:shep1_wk2} dont le rayon d’influence R_w est défini selon l’équation \eqref{eq:shep_rq} en utilisant le paramètre d’influence N_w.

Un exemple d’application de la projection selon la méthode de Shepard est donné ci-dessous.

Application à l’aéraulique : représentation du facteur d’amplification – champ initial (gauche) et champ projeté (droite) (tiré de (Klinyam 2019)).

Résultats sur le temps d’exécution des différents algorithmes de minimisation

On compare ici quelques unes des fonctions proposées la librairie optimize de scipy pour un problème de projection de champ analytique en 2D. De manière intéressante, la méthode L-BFGS-B est la plus performante. À partir de plus de 2000 points sur lesquels on calcule la fonction d’interpolation Q(x,y), on constate une augmentation linéaire du temps de calcul.

Temps d’exécution pour trois méthodes de minimisation (tiré de (Klinyam 2019)).