Air Quality in subterranean train stations

Introduction & Starting point

Air quality in underground stations is a growing concern in cities with an urban transportation network. In France, continuous and open access measurement campaigns are carried out at the SNCF or at the RATP, giving access to data on the concentration of PM2.5 and PM10.

By using the available data, the correlation between rail traffic (continuous lines) and PM10 (dotted line). The figure below represents an average week in the St-Michel Notre-Dame underground station (Paris). It can then be assumed that the majority of the amount of aerosol in suspension comes from braking and resuspension.

Figure 1: Correlation between PM concentration10 (grey solid line) and rail traffic (blue dotted lines)

In this figure, it can be seen that the maximum PM10 are concomitant with morning and evening traffic peaks, on the other hand, weekend concentrations decrease with rail traffic.

By observing the PM2.5/PM10 ration over one week at Magenta station (Paris) as shown in Figure 2 below from [Fortain 2007], we can see that it is between ~0.25 and 0.35 during the day, while it reaches 1 during the night. The PM2.5 being included in the PM10, this means that the larger particles gradually disappear from the aerosol during the night time: only the finer ones remain.

Figure 2: Comparison between the PM2.5/PM10 ratio measured at Magenta from[Fortain 2007]

 

This can be explained by the deposition rate of the particles. Indeed, it is more important for large diameter particles. Figure 3 below shows the deposition rate of particles as a function of their diameter based on [Lai et Nazaroff 2000]. Not surprisingly, gravity deposition is predominant for On particles larger than 1[µm] in diameter. It should be noted that the finest particles, with a diameter of less than 0.01[µm] also settle more significantly: this is related to the Brownian motion which diffuses very small particles onto surfaces. In the intermediate diameter range, the particles are too large to be subjected to the Brownian motion of the gas in which they evolve (air) and do not have enough mass for gravity sedimentation: the natural convection movements of the air are sufficient to keep them in suspension.

 

Figure 3: Deposition rate as a function of particle diameter

 

These observations have led to the development of successive models for predicting air quality in underground stations. The following sections describe the method developed in [Walther et Bogdan 2017a] and [Walther et al. 2017b], available in the section Publications of this site.

Equation

Based on the previous finding and the homogeneous mixing hypothesis, a differential system is established that considers the concentrations of two classes of particles C_a for the PM_{2.5} and C_b for the PM_{2.5-10}, the sum of the two being equal to the concentration of the PM_{10}. This makes it possible to capture the slower and faster dynamics of the aerosol particles:

\frac{d C_a}{dt} = \alpha_a N^2(t) + \tau (C_a^\text{ext}-C_a) - \delta_a C_a

\frac{d C_b}{dt} = \alpha_b N^2(t) + \tau (C_b^\text{ext}-C_b) - \delta_b C_b

Where N  is the number of trains per unit of time, \alpha_a,\alpha_b are the terms of emission of the PM2.5 and PM_{2.5-10} and \delta_a,\delta_b the deposition rates calculated according to the [Lai et Nazaroff 2000].

The air exchange rate \tau is broken down into a natural ventilation rate  \tau_0 and a piston effect ventilation \beta \times N, where \beta [-] is the volume of outside air caused by the departure and the arrival of the train, divided by the volume of the station.

In the literature review by[Nicholson 1988], the resuspension rate follows speed with a power law with an exponent ranging from 1 to 6. The apparent issue term \alpha  is thus assumed to vary with the square of the number of trains N^2 : Indeed, if trains are discrete events, they are considered to lead to an increase in the average speed at the station. The experimental air velocity measurement campaign conducted at St-Michel Notre-Dame station in February 2017 corroborates this hypothesis (see Figure 4 below).

Figure 4: Measured air speed (sliding average over 1 hour) and rail traffic at St-Michel Notre-Dame station

Identification of model parameters

With the differential system in place, it remains to identify the unknown parameters of the model. There are six of them:

  • the piston effect \beta whose order of magnitude can be determined by measurement or simulation (see our research on this subject)
  • the rate of air renewal by natural or mechanical ventilation \tau_0
  • the apparent source terms \alpha_a,\alpha_b which give the proportions of fine and larger particles emitted by braking and resuspension
  • the deposition constants \delta_a,\delta_b which are actually identified from equivalent aerosol diameters d_a,d_b : Indeed, the approach developed here considers that the total concentration of PM10 is that of an aerosol composed of only two types of particles, in different concentrations.

The detailed identification of these parameters makes it possible to find fairly accurately the concentrations measured as a function of rail traffic, as shown in the figure below Figure 5, where measurements and model are compared.

Figure 5: Model comparison (red) / measurement (dotted line)

 

The PM2.5 are also simulated by the model (see green curve in Figure 5) but without experimental confrontation, as these measurements are not available for the Saint-Michel station at the time of preparing this document (this paragraph will have to be updated).

The PM2.5/PM10 ratio obtained, presented in Figure 6, is very similar to the one of the experimental campaign of [Fortain 2007] (see Figure 2).

Figure 6: Simulated PM 2.5/PM10 ratio

Pending experimental results, this finding is considered to support the results obtained from the model. On this basis, it is possible to simulate the evolution of the PM10 concentration as a function of ventilation and filtration installation, by integrating these terms into the model with the identified parameters.

Further development

The model is being improved, depending on the availability of measured data. Two major axes are being explored: the addition of the quantity deposited on surfaces and the generalization of a model to n classes.

Closing equation

The addition of the equation on the surfaces closes the differential system previously presented as in [Qian et al. 2008]. This results in:

V \times \frac{\partial C}{\partial t} = a N + Q_{\text{v}} (C^{\text{ext}} - C) - \delta V C + \rho S_{\text{r}} L

S_{\text{d}} \times \frac{dL}{dt} = \delta V C - \rho S_{\text{r}} L

In the first equation, V is the volume of the station, Q_v is the external air flow rate, \delta is the deposition rate, \rho is the resuspension constant, S_r the surface accessible for resuspension and L the quantity of particles deposited per unit area [\mu g/m^2]. In the second equation, S_d is the surface accessible for deposition.

It should be noted that these two equations are coupled by the cross terms \pm \delta V C and \pm \rho S_r L. These respectively represent the quantity of particles that passes from the air "compartment" to the surface "compartment" by deposition and the quantity resuspended from the surfaces to the air volume.

Model with n classes

With a reasoning similar to that used for two particle size classes, it is possible to extend the model to n classes: this would represent the evolution of an aerosol by size class, as shown in the following figure.

Schematic representation of an aerosol divided into n classes of particles

It becomes possible to define sources from their « emission spectrum » by size class. An example is given below:

 

Example of granulometric distribution of an emission source.

Among the scientific locks to be removed are the quantity of particles initially deposited, the differentiation of the resuspension term by size class (in other words: the "resuspension spectrum" for which there is not yet a unified theory) and finally the experimental comparison: external concentrations by size class are rarely available and the quantity of particles deposited on surfaces is difficult to evaluate.

References

[Fortain 2007] Caractérisation des particules en gares souterraines. PhD thesis, University of La Rochelle

[Lai et Nazaroff 2000] Lai, A. C. K. and Nazaroff, W. W. (2000). Modeling indoor particle deposition from turbulent flow onto smooth surfaces. Journal of Aerosol Science, 31(4):463–476.

[Nicholson 1988] Nicholson, K. W. (1988). A review of particle resuspension. Atmospheric Environment, 22.

[Qian et al. 2008] Qian, J., Ferro, A.R., Fowler, K.R., 2008. Estimating the resuspension rate and residence time of indoor particles. J. Air Waste Manage. Assoc. 58 (4).

[Walther et Bogdan 2017a] Walther, E., & Bogdan, M. (2017). A novel approach for the modelling of air quality dynamics in underground railway stations. Transportation Research Part D: Transport and Environment, 56, 33-42.

[Walther et al. 2017b] Walther, E., Bogdan, M., & Cohen, R. (2017). Modelling of airborne particulate matter concentration in underground stations using a two size-class conservation model. Science of The Total Environment, 607, 1313-1319.

Qualité d’Air en gares souterraines

Introduction & Constat initial

La qualité d’air dans les gares souterraines est un sujet de préoccupation croissant dans les villes possédant un réseau de transport urbain. En France, des campagnes de mesure en continu et libres d’accès ont lieu à la SNCF ou à la RATP, donnant accès aux données de concentration des PM2.5 et PM10.

En exploitant les données disponibles, on peut observer la corrélation entre trafic ferroviaire (en traits continus) et la concentration en PM10 (pointillés). La figure ci-dessous représente une semaine moyenne dans la gare souterraine de St-Michel Notre-Dame. On peut alors supposer que la quantité d’aérosol en suspension provient en majorité du freinage et de la resuspension.

Figure 1 : Corrélation entre concentration en PM10 (trait continu gris) et trafic ferroviaire (pointillés bleus)

Sur cette figure, on constate d’une part que les maxima de concentration en PM10 sont concomitants avec les pics de de trafic du matin et du soir, d’autre part, les concentrations en fin de semaine diminuent avec le trafic ferroviaire.

En observant le ratio PM2.5/PM10 sur une semaine en gare de Magenta comme présenté sur sur la Figure 2 ci-après issue de [Fortain 2007], on constate que celui-ci est compris entre ~0.25 et 0.35 dans la journée, tandis qu’il atteint 1 durant la nuit. Les PM2.5 étant comprises dans les PM10, ceci signifie que les particules les plus grosses disparaissent progressivement de l’aérosol pendant la période nocturne : seules les plus fines subsistent.

Figure 2 : Comparaison entre le ratio PM2.5/PM10 mesuré à Magenta tiré de [Fortain 2007]

Ce phénomène peut s’expliquer par la vitesse de déposition des particules. En effet, celle-ci est plus importante pour les particules de diamètre important. La Figure 3 qui suit présente le taux de déposition des particules en fonction de leur diamètre d’après [Lai et Nazaroff 2000]. Sans surprise, la déposition gravitaire est prédominante pour les On les particules de diamètre supérieur à 1 [µm]. On notera que les particules les plus fines, de diamètre inférieur à 0.01 [µm] se déposent également de manière plus importante : ceci est lié au mouvement d’agitation brownien qui fait diffuser les particules de très petite taille sur les surfaces. Dans la gamme de diamètres intermédiaire, les particules sont trop grosses pour être soumises au mouvement brownien du gaz dans lequel elles évoluent (l’air) et n’ont pas assez de masse pour une sédimentation gravitaire : les mouvements de convection naturelle de l’air suffisent à les maintenir en suspension.

 

Figure 3 : Taux de déposition en fonction du diamètre de particule

Ces observations ont donné lieu au développement de modèles successifs de prédiction de la qualité d’air en gare souterraine. Les sections qui suivent exposent la méthode développée dans [Walther et Bogdan 2017a] et [Walther et al. 2017b], disponibles dans la section Articles de ce site.

Mise en équation

En se basant sur le constat précédent et l’hypothèse du mélange homogène, on établit un système différentiel qui considère les concentrations de deux classes de particules C_a pour les PM_{2.5} et C_b pour les PM_{2.5-10}, la somme des deux étant égale à la concentration en PM_{10}. Ceci permet de capter les dynamiques lentes et plus rapides des particules de l’aérosol :

\frac{d C_a}{dt} = \alpha_a N^2(t) + \tau (C_a^\text{ext}-C_a) - \delta_a C_a \frac{d C_b}{dt} = \alpha_b N^2(t) + \tau (C_b^\text{ext}-C_b) - \delta_b C_b

N  est le nombre de trains par unité de temps, \alpha_a,\alpha_b sont les termes d’émission des PM2.5 et PM_{2.5-10} et \delta_a,delta_b les taux de déposition calculés d’après la méthode de [Lai et Nazaroff 2000].

Le taux de renouvellement d’air \tau est décomposé en un taux de ventilation naturelle  \tau_0 et une ventilation par effet piston \beta \times N, où \beta [-] est le volume d’air extérieur entraîné par le départ et l’arrivée du train, divisé par le volume de la gare.

Dans la revue de la littérature par [Nicholson 1988], le taux de resuspension suit la vitesses avec une loi puissance avec un exposant allant de 1 à 6. Le terme d’émission apparente \alpha  est ainsi supposé varier avec le carré du nombre de trains N^2 : en effet, si les trains sont des événements discrets, on considère qu’ils amènent à une augmentation de la vitesse moyenne en gare. La campagne expérimentale de mesure des vitesses d’air menée en gare de St-Michel Notre-Dame en février 2017 corrobore cette hypothèse (voir la Figure 4 qui suit).

Figure 4 : Vitesse d’air mesurée (moyenne glissante sur 1h) et circulation ferroviaire en gare de St-Michel Notre-Dame

 

Identification des paramètres du modèle

Le système différentiel étant posé, il reste à identifier les paramètres inconnus du modèle. Ceux-ci sont au nombre de six :

  • l’effet piston \beta dont l’ordre de grandeur peut être déterminé par mesure ou simulation (voir nos travaux à ce sujet)
  • le taux de renouvellement d’air par ventilation naturelle ou mécanique \tau_0
  • les termes source apparents \alpha_a,\alpha_b qui donnent les proportions de particules fines et plus grosses émises par freinage et resuspension
  • les constantes de déposition \delta_a,\delta_b qui sont en réalité identifiées à partir des diamètres d’aérosols équivalents d_a,d_b : en effet, l’approche développée ici considère que la concentration totale en PM10 est celle d’un aérosol composé de deux types de particules uniquement, en concentrations différentes.

L’identification fine de ces paramètres permet de retrouver assez fidèlement les concentrations mesurées en fonction du trafic ferroviaire, comme le montre la figure ci-dessous Figure 5, où l’on compare mesures et modèle.

Figure 5 : Comparaison modèle (rouge) / mesure (pointillés)

Les PM2.5 sont également simulées par le modèle (voir courbe verte sur la Figure 5) mais sans confrontation expérimentale, ces mesures n’étant pas disponibles pour la gare de Saint-Michel lors de l’élaboration de ce document (ce paragraphe sera actualisé dans un futur proche).

Le ratio PM2.5/PM10 obtenu, présenté en Figure 6, est toutefois très similaire à celui de la campagne expérimentale de [Fortain 2007] (voir Figure 2).

Figure 6 : Ratio PM2.5/PM10 simulé

Dans l’attente de résultats expérimentaux, on juge que cette constatation conforte les résultats obtenus du modèle. Sur cette base, il est possible de simuler l’évolution de la concentration en PM10 en fonction de la ventilation et de la mise en place de filtration, en intégrant ces termes dans le modèle avec les paramètres identifiés.

Perspectives

Le modèle est en amélioration constante, au gré des données mesurées qui se révèlent être de plus en plus disponibles. Deux axes majeurs sont en cours d’exploration : l’ajout de la quantité déposée sur les surfaces et la généralisation d’un modèle à n classes.

Équation de fermeture

L’ajout de l’équation sur les surfaces ferme le système différentiel présenté auparavant comme dans [Qian et al. 2008]. On obtient ainsi :

V \times \frac{\partial C}{\partial t} = a N + Q_{\text{v}} (C^{\text{ext}} - C) - \delta V C + \rho S_{\text{r}} L S_{\text{d}} \times \frac{dL}{dt} = \delta V C - \rho S_{\text{r}} L

Dans la première équation, V est le volume de la gare, Q_v est le débit d’air extérieur, \delta est le taux de déposition, \rho est la constante de resuspension, S_r la surface accessible à la resuspension et L la quantité de particules déposées par unité de surface [\mu g/m^2]. Dans la seconde équation, S_d est la surface accessible à la déposition.

On notera que ces deux équations sont couplées par les termes croisés \pm \delta V C et \pm \rho S_r L. Ceux-ci représentent respectivement la quantité de particules qui passe du « compartiment » d’air au « compartiment » de surface par déposition et la quantité remise en suspension depuis les surfaces vers le volume d’air.

Modèle à n classes

Avec un raisonnement similaire à celui utilisé pour deux classes de tailles de particules, il est possible d’étendre le modèle à n classes : ainsi on aurait la représentation de l’évolution d’un aérosol par classe de taille, comme présenté sur la figure qui suit.

Représentation schématique d’un aérosol divisé en n classes de particules

Il devient possible de définir les sources à partir de leur « spectre d’émission » par classe de taille. Un exemple est donné ci-dessous:

 

Exemple de répartition granulométrique d’une source d’émission.

Parmis les verrous scientifiques à lever, on peut citer la quantité de particules initialement déposée, la différenciation du terme de resuspension par classe de taille (autrement dit : le « spectre de resuspension » pour lequel il n’existe pas encore de théorie unifiée) et enfin la confrontation expérimentale : les concentrations extérieures par classe de taille sont rarement disponibles et la quantité de particules déposées sur les surfaces est difficile à évaluer.

Références

[Fortain 2007] Fortain, A. (2007). Caractérisation des particules en gares souterraines. Thèse de Doctorat, Université de La Rochelle.

[Lai et Nazaroff 2000] Lai, A. C. K. and Nazaroff, W. W. (2000). Modeling indoor particle deposition from turbulent flow onto smooth surfaces. Journal of Aerosol Science, 31(4):463–476.

[Nicholson 1988] Nicholson, K. W. (1988). A review of particle resuspension. Atmospheric Environment, 22.

[Qian et al. 2008] Qian, J., Ferro, A.R., Fowler, K.R., 2008. Estimating the resuspension rate and residence time of indoor particles. J. Air Waste Manage. Assoc. 58 (4).

[Walther et Bogdan 2017a] Walther, E., & Bogdan, M. (2017). A novel approach for the modelling of air quality dynamics in underground railway stations. Transportation Research Part D: Transport and Environment, 56, 33-42.

[Walther et al. 2017b] Walther, E., Bogdan, M., & Cohen, R. (2017). Modelling of airborne particulate matter concentration in underground stations using a two size-class conservation model. Science of The Total Environment, 607, 1313-1319.