Nodal Approach Enrichment

1. Why ?

The information given by building energy simulation is nodal, i.e. for each "zone" defined in the building, the heat and mass balances can only determine one scalar quantity. While this approach is suitable for offices, dwellings and other low-rise volumes that are reasonably glazed and open to the outside, in very open and glazed spaces, this quantity of information is insufficient for the characterization of comfort.

Indeed, in BES, the incident solar fluxes in the area are generally distributed over the different opaque surfaces without conserving the information of the actual flux distribution or, in the most simplistic models, completely sent to the ground (see the principle diagram below).

Distribution of solar fluxes in STD: in general, an average in proportion to the surface area is achieved and spatial information is lost

The estimation of the value of the air velocity field value is not made and a low arbitrary value is used for the calculation of comfort (e. g. v=0.13 [m/s] for energyplus).

The limitations of this approach lead us to propose an alternative, enriching the BES for a spatial prediction of thermal comfort.

2. Proposed method

The challenge relies in obtaining several fields and scalars allowing the calculation of comfort. Following elements are hence successively determined:

  • The pressures on the facades are calculated by a CFD approach and assigned to the walls & openings in the building energy simulation model (see the dedicated page)
  • The air velocity field for each wind direction are extracted from the 3D field as 2D slices at occupancy height in the area of interest
  • The distribution of the indoor solar fluxes is obtained, for example with Radiance
  • Air temperatures and relative humidity are retrieved from the building energy simulation

It is then necessary to project on a common mesh the fields obtained by the different tools (on this subject see the article in the section Numerical Methods).

After projection, the level of comfort can be calculated, based on a comfort indicator adapted to the environment studied (an example). An illustration of the principle is provided in the form of a synoptic in Figure 3 below.

Principle of coupling between CFD and BES tools / Calculation of the velocity field and pressure coefficients on the facades as a function of the wind rose, calculation of spatial comfort including air velocities and solar fluxes and statistical post-processing.

One should nevertheless be cautious when using the values obtained: several dozen uncertainties have been identified in BES [Garnier et al. 2015], all of which may have a significant impact on the results. A reasonable approach is hence to work with relative values, preferring to compare trends or differences between simulated constructive variants rather than absolute values.

3. Processing the results

The approach developed above gives hourly comfort maps over a year's period. A quick calculation shows that such simulations produce more than 4 million data that need to be processed intelligently: indeed, if the objective of the method is to go beyond the "average value approach", it thus seems absurd to recalculate spatial time step averages. A clever use of the data is to be made.

One of the available tools to represent the spatial variability of comfort is theOTCA (Outdoor Thermal Comfort Autonomy) for the chose thermal comfort index. \varphi We first compute [latex]\sigma[/latex] such that:

\sigma=1 \text{ si } \varphi \in [\varphi_{min}, \varphi_{max}]^\text{comfort zone}

\sigma=0 \text{ si } \varphi \not\in [\varphi_{min}, \varphi_{max}]^\text{comfort zone}

Puis, pour le nombre d’ heures d’occupation N, on détermine la moyenne de cet indicateur en tout point de l’espace

\text{OTCA} = \frac{1}{N} \sum_{1}^{N}\sigma

[to be continued... with standard deviations & variation coefficients]

Enrichissement de l’approche nodale

1. Pourquoi ?

L’information donnée par la simulation thermique dynamique est nodale, c’est-à-dire que par « zone » thermique, les bilans de chaleur et de masse ne permettent de déterminer qu’une seule grandeur. Si cette approche est adaptée aux bureaux, logements et autres volumes de faible hauteur qui sont raisonnablement vitrés et ouverts sur l’extérieur, dans les espaces très ouverts et vitrés, elle est insuffisante pour la caractérisation du confort.

En effet, en STD les flux solaires incidents dans la zone sont en règle générale répartis sur les différentes surfaces opaques sans conserver la distribution réelle ou, dans les modèles les plus simplistes, intégralement envoyés sur le sol (voir le schéma de principe ci-dessous).

Répartition des flux solaires en STD : en général une moyenne au prorata des surfaces est réalisée et l’information spatiale est perdue

L’estimation de la valeur du champ des vitesses d’air n’est quant à elle pas faite et une valeur arbitraire faible est utilisée pour le calcul du confort (par exemple v=0.13 [m/s] pour energyplus).

Les limitations de cette approche nous amènent à proposer une alternative, enrichissant la STD pour une prédiction spatiale du confort.

2. Méthode proposée

Il s’agit d’obtenir plusieurs champs et scalaires permettant le calcul du confort. Ainsi on détermine successivement les éléments suivants :

  • Les pressions en façade sont calculées par une approche de mécanique des fluides et attribuées aux parois & ouvrants dans le modèle thermique dynamique (voir la page dédiée)
  • Le champ des vitesses d’air pour chaque direction de vent (coupe 2D à hauteur d’occupation dans la zone d’intérêt à partir du champ 3D)
  • La distribution des flux solaires en intérieur, par exemple avec Radiance
  • Les température d’air et humidité relative issues de la simulation thermique dynamique

Il faut ensuite projeter les champs obtenus par les différents outils (à ce sujet voir l’article dans la section Méthodes Numériques).

On peut dès lors calculer le niveau de confort, en se basant sur un indicateur de confort adapté au milieu étudié (une possibilité). Une illustration du principe  est proposée sous la forme d’un synoptique sur la Figure 3 ci-après.

Principe de couplage entre outils CFD et STD / Calcul du champ des vitesses ainsi que des coefficients de pression en façade en fonction de la rose des vents, calcul du confort spatial incluant vitesses d’air et flux solaires puis traitement statistique.

Prudence tout de même : plusieurs dizaines d’incertitudes ont été relevées en simulation thermique dynamique [Garnier et. al 2015]  ce qui peut fortement impacter les résultats. Notre credo est donc travailler en relatif. On préfère ainsi comparer les différences de tendances ou l’écart entre deux variantes simulées, et non leurs valeurs absolues.

3. Traitement des données obtenues

L’approche développée ci-dessus donne des cartes de confort horaires sur une période annuelle. Un rapide calcul montre que de telles simulations produisent plus de 4 millions de données qu’il s’agit de traiter intelligemment : en effet, si l’objectif de la méthode est d’aller au-delà de la valeur moyenne, il semble absurde de recalculer des moyennes spatiales par pas de temps. Ainsi une exploitation astucieuse des données est à mener.

[en construction]